Skip to main content
Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles
This section is intended for professionnals.
Login | Ask for the password

L'éveil du printemps

L’éveil du printemps is set in a small morally oppressive town in the provinces, where a dozen teenagers with raging hormones become aware of sexuality, with all its attendant flights of passion and anxieties, and come up against a wall of repression, restrictions and taboos constructed by the adult world.
Death is on the prowl (abortion, suicide, etc.) but the Masked Man, an allegorical, abstract figure, keeps a weather eye open for trouble and makes sure the survival instinct triumphs.

For twenty-four years, this text, written in 1891 by the author of Lulu, has been sitting on Armel Roussel’s bedside table: although he has drawn on it three times already, he has not properly staged it himself before.
In order to do this, and to bring out the play’s ensemble structure more effectively, he has brought twelve actors and two musicians on board. And instead of the stuffiness of bourgeois homes, he has chosen to give the play an open-air setting: a festival on one of the village squares where, on dance evenings, tongues are loosened, desires indulged and gossip spread.


Direction & scenography
Armel Roussel

L’Éveil du printemps. Une tragédie enfantine/Frank Wedekind

Julien Jaillot

Costume design
Coline Wauters

Sound design
Pierre Alexandre Lampert

Light design
Amélie Géhin

Stage Manager
Rémy Brans

Executive producer
Gabrielle Dailly

Tristan Barani

Nadège Cathelineau, Romain Cinter, Thomas Dubot, Julien Frege, Amandine Laval, Nicolas Luçon, Florence Minder, Julie Rens, Sophie Sénécaut, Lode Thiery, Sacha Vovk, Judith Williquet, Uiko Watanabe

[e]utopia[4]– Création Studio Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles, Centre Dramatique National de Normandie-Rouen et la COOP asbl & Shelter Prod.

With the support of
Le Centre des Arts Scéniques, la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles / Service Théâtre, d’ING et du tax shelter du gouvernement fédéral de Belgique

© Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles