Following the multiple measures taken in the fight against the Coronavirus, we are obliged to cancel all Please, continue (Hamlet) performances initially scheduled. For more information.

On the stage transformed into a courtroom, a trial takes place, the trial oif a young man who during a wedding kills his girlfriend’s father. The protagonists, the only actors on stage, present themselves, Hamlet for the accused, Gertrude for his mother and Ophelia for his ex girlfriend. The lawyers, the presiding judge, the bailiff are actual people of the law in the town in which the play is being performed. After the arguments are presented, 12 members of the audience are chosen to be the jury and they will deliberate and decide on the guilt or innocence of the accused.

Immersed in the dramaturgy of the crime and the authenticity of the proceedings, the spectator is a direct witness to the complex workings of justice. Involved in the proceedingshe or she is invited to “consider the charges” and to remember that “the accused is presumed innocent and that he is owed the benefit of the doubt.”

Based on the records of a real case as well as on the murder of Polonius in Shakespeare’s Hamlet, the performance owes as much to the concept of a mock trial as well as a speech contest. The universality of the situation reveals parallels between theatrical codes and those of a trial but blurs the line between fiction and reality. With this troubling experience, Yan Duyvendak and Roger Bernay question the pertinence of juries in trials and leads everyone to question their own ideas of justice, especially on the subjectivity of their decisions.

 

01, 08, 15 & 22.03.2021 – Cinéma Palace (cancelled)
Projections
Le Procès au cinéma
In preparation for the trial of Hamlet in Please, continue (Hamlet), Palace proposes a selection of fiction and documentary films on the theme of the trial.

→ Projections cancelled. Temporary closure of the cinema, more information on www.cinema-palace.be.

Info

  • Language

    FR

  • Venue

    Grande Salle

  • Duration

    180’

Cast

  • Concept 
    Yan Duyvendak 
    Roger Bernat 

    With 
    Claire Delaporte 
    Adrien Serre 
    Margot Viala 
    And with a president, a general lawyer, a defense lawyer and a prosecution lawyer, a psychiatrist and a bailiff, all different every night. 

    Staging in partnership with 
    Sylvie Kleiber 

    Administrative management 
    Marine Magnin 

    International Development
    Judith Martin - Ligne Directe 

    Creative production and communication 
    Charlotte Terrapon 

  • Stage Manager 
    Eric Mutel

    Production 
    Dreams Come True, Genève 

    Coproduction
    Le Phénix Scène Nationale Valenciennes ; Huis a/d Werf, Utrecht ; Théâtre du Grütli, Genève 

    Hospitality and residence
    Montévidéo, Marseille ; Le Carré/Les Colonnes, Scène conventionnée, Saint-Médard-en-Jalles/Blanquefort 

    With support from 
    Ville de Genève, République et canton de Genève, Pro Helvetia Fondation suisse pour la culture, Migros pour-cent culturel, Loterie Romande, Ministerio de Cultura-INAEM, Mécènes du sud, Marseille, Le Nouveau théâtre de Montreuil – centre dramatique national, CORODIS 

Calendar

  • Tuesday
    20:00
  • Wednesday
    19:30
  • Thursday
    20:00
  • Friday
    20:00
  • Saturday
    20:00

Sur le plateau transformé en cour d’assises s’ouvre le procès d’un jeune homme qui, au cours d’un mariage, a tué le père de sa petite amie. Les protagonistes, seuls acteurs sur la scène, se présentent : Hamlet pour l’accusé, Gertrude pour sa mère et Ophélie pour son ex-petite amie. Les avocats et avocates, le ou la présidente, les huissiers et huissières sont quant à eux et elles d’authentiques hommes et femmes de loi de la ville où le spectacle est présenté. À l’issue des débats, 12 spectateurs désignés pour constituer le jury populaire devront délibérer et statuer sur la culpabilité ou l’innocence de l’accusé. 

Immergés dans la dramaturgie du crime et l’authenticité de la procédure, le public se retrouve témoin direct du fonctionnement complexe de la justice. Impliqué dans les débats, il est invité à « examiner les charges » et à se rappeler que « l’accusé est présumé innocent et que le doute doit lui profiter ». 

Basée sur le dossier d’instruction d’un cas réel ainsi que sur le meurtre de Polonius dans le Hamlet de Shakespeare, la performance doit autant au « mock trial » qu’aux concours oratoires. L’universalité de la situation révèle les parallèles entre les codes du théâtre et ceux du tribunal mais brouille la frontière entre fiction et réalité. Avec cette troublante expérience, Yan Duyvendak et Roger Bernat interrogent la pertinence des jurys populaires dans les tribunaux et conduisent chacun à se questionner sur son idée de la justice, en particulier sur la subjectivité de nos décisions. 

 

01, 08, 15 & 22.03.2021 – Cinéma Palace
Projections
Le Procès au cinéma
En préparation du procès d’Hamlet de Please, continue (Hamlet), Le cinéma Palace proposera de découvrir une sélection de films de fiction ou documentaire autours de la thématique du procès. 

→ Les projections auront toutes lieu au Palace le lundi. Programmation complète sur www.cinema-palace.be. 

Infos

  • Langue

    FR

  • Lieu

    Grande Salle

  • Durée

    180’

Distribution

  • Conception
    Yan Duyvendak 
    Roger Bernat 

    Avec
    Claire Delaporte 
    Adrien Serre 
    Margot Viala 
    Et avec un président, un avocat général, un avocat de la défense et un avocat pour la partie civile, un expert-psychiatre et un huissier audiencier, tous différents chaque soir. 

    Mise en espace en collaboration avec
    Sylvie Kleiber 

    Direction administrative 
    Marine Magnin 

    Développement international
    Judith Martin - Ligne Directe 

    Production créative et Communication
    Charlotte Terrapon 

  • Régie générale 
    Eric Mutel

    Production
    Dreams Come True, Genève 

    Coproduction
    Le Phénix Scène Nationale Valenciennes ; Huis a/d Werf, Utrecht ; Théâtre du Grütli, Genève 

    Accueil en résidence 
    Montévidéo, Marseille ; Le Carré/Les Colonnes, Scène conventionnée, 
    Saint-Médard-en-Jalles/Blanquefort 

    Avec le soutien de
    Ville de Genève, République et canton de Genève, Pro Helvetia Fondation suisse pour la culture, Migros pour-cent culturel, Loterie Romande, Ministerio de Cultura-INAEM, Mécènes du sud, Marseille, Le Nouveau théâtre de Montreuil – centre dramatique nationa, CORODIS 

Calendrier

  • Mardi
    20:00
  • Mercredi
    19:30
  • Jeudi
    20:00
  • Vendredi
    20:00
  • Samedi
    20:00