Théâtre - 100’ - fr, surtitles en

In all times, men and women have stood against the current conformity, disrupting the social, religious or political beliefs of their eras. The price to pay for such audacity is often painful: arrest, torture or death are the result for these lives going against the tide.

Vladimir Steyaert shines a light on lives buried or disfigured by history. This project had as its genesis the discovery of Alan Turing’s life. Brilliant British scientist, Turing deciphered the Nazi codes at the height of the Second World War. Why was his legacy buried when his work was so instrumental in the Allied victory? Because he was a homosexual, an intolerable fact in the puritanism of the after war period.

Other figures join Turing. Giordano Bruno, a Dominican friar, died at the hands of the Inquisition in the 16th century; he supported Copernicus’ theories which led him to being burned at the stake. Camille Claudel paid dearly for her status as a women artist. She died in 1943 in an insane asylum in the Vaucluse, and her art, unrecognized in her lifetime finally saw the light of day during the eighties. Chelsea Manning, an American military analyst, was incarcerated for treason. Her crime: having made public classified Department of Defense documents detailing war crimes committed by the US Army in Iraq and Afghanistan. So many lives that resonate now as humanity tries to reinvent itself.

Cast

  • Writing and directing
    Vladimir Steyaert

    With
    Maïanne Barthès
    Christophe Brault
    Vincent Hennebicq
    François Sauveur

    Costumes and set design
    Rudy Sabounghi

    Lighting
    Yann Loric

    Video design
    Ludovic Desclin

    Video assistant
    Camille Sanchez

    Sound design
    Jean-Christophe Murat

    Dramaturgical research
    Charles-Eric Petit

    Technical manager
    Cédric Otte

  • Painted canvas realization
    Eugénie Obolensky

    Sets construction and costumes
    Ateliers du Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

    Staging and directing intern
    Clémentine Vincent
    Gilles Escoyez
    Paul Canfori

    Costumes and set design intern
    Anne-Claire Cordier

    Création Studio Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

    Production
    Compagnie Vladimir Steyaert

    Co-production
    Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles, Central - La Louvière

    With the support of
    la Chartreuse de Villeneuve- lez-Avignon, Opéra National de Bordeaux, taxshelter.be, ING & tax-shelter du gouvernement fédéral belge

    Sets construction and costumes
    Ateliers du Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

Touring

Backstage

Théâtre - 100’ - fr, surtitles en

De tout temps, des hommes et des femmes se sont dressés contre le conformisme ambiant, bousculant les croyances religieuses, politiques ou sociales de leur époque. Le prix d’une telle audace se mesure souvent dans la douleur : arrestation, torture, mort soldent ces existences à contre-courant.

Vladimir Steyaert sort de l’ombre des vies réécrites ou englouties par l’histoire. C’est en découvrant le parcours d’Alan Turing que le projet voit le jour. Scientifique britannique de génie, Turing parvient à briser le code de la défense nazie en pleine seconde guerre mondiale. Pourquoi étouffer le nom de celui qui a largement contribué à la victoire des Alliés ? Car il est homosexuel, un fait intolérable pour le puritanisme de l’après-guerre. 

D’autres figures croisent celle de Turing. Giordano Bruno, frère dominicain du XVIe siècle, périra sur le bûcher pour avoir soutenu les thèses de Copernic. Camille Claudel payera cher sa condition de femme artiste. Morte en 1943 dans un asile du Vaucluse, son art, non reconnu de son vivant, sort enfin de l’anonymat dans les années ’80. Chelsea Manning, analyste militaire américaine, est incarcérée pour trahison. Son crime : avoir livré des documents secret défense sur les bavures de la U.S. Army en Irak et en Afghanistan. Autant d’existences qui font écho à l’heure où l’humanité peine à se réinventer.

Distribution

  • Écriture et mise en scène
    Vladimir Steyaert

    Avec
    Maïanne Barthès
    Christophe Brault
    Vincent Hennebicq
    François Sauveur

    Costumes et scénographie
    Rudy Sabounghi

    Lumière 
    Yann Loric

    Création vidéo
    Ludovic Desclin

    Assitant vidéo
    Camille Sanchez

    Création sonore
    Jean-Christophe Murat

    Recherches dramaturgiques 
    Charles-Eric Petit

    Régie générale
    Cédric Otte

  • Réalisation toile peinte 
    Eugénie Obolensky

    Construction décors et costumes
    Ateliers du Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

    Stagiaire à la mise en scène
    Clémentine Vincent
    Gilles Escoyez
    Paul Canfori

    Stagiaire scénographie et costumes
    Anne-Claire Cordier

    Création Studio Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

    Production
    Compagnie Vladimir Steyaert

    Coproduction
    Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles, Central - La Louvière

    Avec le soutien de
    la Chartreuse de Villeneuve- lez-Avignon, Opéra National de Bordeaux, taxshelter.be, ING & tax-shelter du gouvernement fédéral belge

    Construction décors et costumes
    Ateliers du Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

Tournées

Backstage