Skip to main content
Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

Monument 0.10 : 
The Living Monument 
Eszter Salamon
Carte Blanche – Compagnie nationale norvégienne de danse contemporaine

20 > 22.02.2025

Sound, materials and bodies come together to create a succession of dreamlike landscapes that choreographer Eszter Salamon calls ‘dynamic monochromes’.

Combining humanoid forms, shimmering fabrics and strange masks, the tableaux unfold slowly before our eyes, before being rearranged to immerse us in a new world, structured around a different colour, opening up images and sensations in us that are repeated over and over again. With these visually powerful installations, displayed in a state of suspended time, Eszter Salamon is continuing her Monument series begun ten years ago – this time, created in collaboration with Carte Blanche, the Norwegian national company of contemporary dance and its fourteen performers. She continues to question memory and its incorporation into movement and the stage. For this she relies on the power of our roving imaginations: are these alien works of art that we are contemplating, the remains of sunken civilizations, rituals from future times? The works in this series function as anti-monuments, says Eszter Salamon: ‘Instead of commemorating the past, they propose to investigate actions of memory and archiving by linking the past, present and future.’

Corealisation Charleroi Danse, Kaaitheater, Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles






Grande salle


Concept, chorography and costume design
Eszter Salamon

James Brandily

Lighting design
Silje Grimstad

Carmen Villain

Choreography assistant
Elodie Perrin
Christine De Smedt

Costume design assistant
Laura Garnier

Sound design
Leif Herland

Marketing and promotion assistant
Jonas Sharif Hordvik
Line Jensen

Administrative secretariat
Mona Igland
Line Jense

Technical director
Jeroen Tjeerd de Groot

Technical coordinator
Mark Simon Watts

Ole Martin Meland
Aslak Aune Nygård
Adrian Bartczak
Dawid Lorenc
Ihsaan de Banya
Brecht Bovijn
Mathias Stoltenberg
Gaspard Schmitt
Irene Vesterhus Theisen
Nadege Kubwayo
Mai Lisa Guinoo
Caroline Eckly
Noam Eidelman Shatil
Iris Auguste
Aleksandra Korniejenko

Carte Blanche – Compagnie nationale de danse contemporaine de Norvège

Artistic director
Annabelle Bonnéry

General director
Tone Tjemsland

Communication director
Pia Rogne

Production and planning director
Møyfrid Fuglestad

Rehearsal director
Susanna Recchia

Tour manager
Gulli Sekse

Chief electro
Robert Roespel

Sound director
Gunnar Innvær

Sound technician
Evgeny Lysak

Stage and tour management
Jan Tore Solberg

Light technician
Thomas Bruvik
Hans Skogen

Stage technician
Vegard Veivåg

Head of costume
Indrani Balgobin

Renate Rolland

Pattern Making / Tailoring
Martina Wilhelms

Sewing / Wardrobe
Krishna Biscardi

Props and Masks
June Olsen

Vocal coaching
Rikke Lina Matthiessen

Maintenance staff
Benigne Nizigiyimana
Davin Iratunga

Press photos
Sjur Pollen

Process and press photos
Øystein Haara

David Alræk

Thanks to
Collectif Das Plateau, Bouffes du Nord, Théâtre national de la Danse de Chaillot, Vivarium Studio, I see

Supported by
Botschaft Gbr (Alexandra Wellensiek)</ Studio E.S (Elodie Perrin) / Institut de narration spéculative et d’incarnation

Botschaft Gbr</ Eszter Salamon is supported by DIEHL+RITTER/ TANZPAKT RECONNECT, funded by the Commissaire fédéral à la Culture et aux Médias under the NEUSTART KULTUR initiative and by the Sénat pour la Culture et l’Europe de Berlin. Le STUDIO E.S receives financial support from the DRAC Île-de-France - Direction régionale des affaires culturelles de Paris - Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication

Øystein Haara
Le Rideau de saison, Maak & Transmettre · photos : Lucile Dizier, 2024