The Syrian artist Abdalla Al Omari proposes a piece in constant evolution, in which he represents today’s world leaders in the guise of refugees. On the occasion of his exhibition at the National Theatre, he will live-paint a face known in Belgian politics to complete his canvas.

The Boat is a work in progress, as leadership is passed on and problems inherited.
The Boat is a part of The Vulnerability Series, the internationally renowned project of visual artist Abdalla Al Omari, where he painted portraits of world leaders as refugees, challenging the notions of vulnerability and power.
Painting world leaders together in a rickety wooden boat as refugees trying to find a better future emphasises the shared responsibility for the state of the world. The painting can be viewed as a work in progress, as leadership is passed on and all problems inherited. One can find the faces of Xi, Trump, Obama, Merkel, Macron, Orban, Assad, May, Kim Jong Un, Cameron, Putin, Modi, King Salman, El Khameini.
The leaders are often shown in provocative combinations, ironically challenging current relations between them.

Info

Calendar

  • Tuesday
    18:30
  • Wednesday
    18:00
  • Thursday
    18:30
  • Friday
    18:30
  • Saturday
    18:30
  • Tuesday
    18:30
  • Wednesday
    18:00
  • Thursday
    19:00
  • Friday
    18:30
  • Saturday
    18:30
  • Tuesday
    18:30
  • Wednesday
    18:00
  • Thursday
    18:30
  • Friday
    18:30
  • Saturday
    18:30
  • Sunday
    12:00

See also...

Théâtre National

The boat

(le bateau)

Abdalla Al Omari

L’artiste syrien Abdalla Al Omari propose une oeuvre évolutive dans laquelle il représente les grands leaders mondiaux sous les traits de réfugiés. A l'occasion de son exposition au Théâtre National, il peindra en direct un visage connu de la politique belge pour compléter sa toile.

Le Bateau est une œuvre qui évolue, au fil des fluctuations de la gouvernance et des problèmes qui se perpétuent.
Le Bateau fait partie de la Série de la vulnérabilité, projet d’envergure internationale de l’artiste visuel Abdalla Al Omari, dans lequel il représente des hommes politiques du monde entier sous les traits de réfugiés, bousculant ainsi les notions de vulnérabilité et de pouvoir.
En figurant ces hommes politiques embarqués ensemble sur un précaire bateau de bois, comme des réfugiés en quête d’un avenir meilleur, il attire l’attention sur le partage des responsabilités dans l’état du monde. Cette peinture peut être considérée comme une œuvre qui évolue, au fil des fluctuations de la gouvernance et des problèmes qui se perpétuent. On y découvre les visages de Xi Jinping, Trump, Obama, Merkel, Macron, Orban, Assad, May, Kim Jong Un, Cameron, Poutine, Modi, ou encore du roi Salman et d’Ali Khameini.
Souvent provocants, les rapprochements suggérés entre les dirigeants mettent en question avec ironie leurs relations actuelles.

Image
© Abdalla Al Omari

Infos

Vernissage

Vernissage & performance — 04.10.2018 — 19:00

Tickets

Entrée libre aux horaires d’ouverture du théâtre – visite guidée sur demande à public@theatrenational.be

Lieu

Foyers