Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

Should I stay or should I stay

Simon Thomas

05 > 08.04.2023
Theatre

An empty space, a door. Four characters. One dressed all in red, the other in a yellow raincoat, the third in a blue outfit and the fourth molded in a black jumpsuit. How long have they been there? A few minutes? A few years? For ever? They seem stuck, without really knowing why, or how to escape. While the refrain Should I stay or should I stay, an obvious variation of the Clash’s cult Should I Stay or Should I Go, plays in a loop, the void seems to be calling them. They might be able to open the door and walk out, but none of them took the plunge. Nothing explains it, nothing can be explained.

The first play by Simon Thomas serves as a manifesto. Born out of a feeling of helplessness, Should I stay or should I stay plunges into the heart of a joyfully tragic world where the story has disappeared. Where only snippets of abstract conversations remain that immediately open the mind to a deluge of questions.

How does one live a meaningless life? How do we overcome inertia? How can we take part in the march of the world? Why remain prisoner of an empty space, as if swallowed by time? Driven by a staging that draws on comics, cartoons and video games, Jules Churin, Heloïse Jadoul, Manon Joannoteguy, Lucas Meister touch on the absurd to question the notion of choice, the stretching of time and the end of things. A surreal waltz where black humour reigns, the piece distills a gratingly funny poetry.

Calendar

Information

Language

fr

Duration

60'

Venue

Studio

Cast

Concept
La Horde Furtive

Direction
Simon Thomas

With
Jules Churin
Heloïse Jadoul
Manon Joannoteguy
Lucas Meister

Writing
Simon Thomas

Creation at
Théâtre de la Balsamine

First elaborations at
l’Institut National Supérieur des Arts du Spectacle et des Techniques de Diffusion de la FWB

With the support from
la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles - Service du Théâtre Remerciements Martine Wijckaert et Florent Garnier

© Hichem Dahes
© Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

Should I stay or should I stay

Simon Thomas

05 > 08.04.2023
Théâtre

Un espace vide, une porte. Quatre personnages. L’un entièrement vêtu de rouge, l’autre en ciré jaune, le troisième en tenue bleue et le quatrième moulé dans une combinaison noire. Depuis combien de temps sont-i·els là ? Quelques minutes ? Quelques années ? Une éternité ? I·Els semblent coincé·es, sans véritablement savoir pourquoi, ni comment s’évader. Tandis que la ritournelle Should I stay or should I stay, variation évidente du cultissime Should I Stay or Should I Go des Clash, tourne en boucle, le vide semble les appeler. I·Els pourraient peut-être ouvrir la porte et sortir, mais aucun·e d’entre elle·ux ne franchit le pas. Rien ne l’explique, rien ne s’explique.

La première pièce de Simon Thomas a valeur de manifeste. Née du sentiment d’impuissance, Should I stay or should I stay plonge au cœur d’un monde joyeusement tragique où le récit a disparu, où il ne reste que des bribes de conversations abstraites qui ouvrent immédiatement l’esprit à un déluge de questions.

Comment vivre une vie dénuée de sens ? Comment vaincre l’inertie ? Comment prendre part à la marche du monde ? Pourquoi rester prisonnièr·e d’un espace vide, comme avalé·es par le temps ? Emmené·es par une mise en scène qui puise dans les bandes dessinées, les cartoons ou les jeux vidéo, Jules Churin, Heloïse Jadoul, Manon Joannoteguy, Lucas Meister tutoient l’absurde pour questionner la notion de choix, l’étirement du temps et la finitude des choses. Valse surréaliste où règne l’humour noir, la pièce distille une poésie grinçante
et drôle.

Calendrier

Informations

Langue

fr

Durée

60'

Lieu

Studio

Distribution

Conception
La Horde Furtive

Metteur en scène
Simon Thomas 

Avec
Jules Churin
Heloïse Jadoul
Manon Joannoteguy
Lucas Meister

Écriture
Simon Thomas

Création au
Théâtre de la Balsamine

Premières élaborations à
l’Institut National Supérieur des Arts du Spectacle et des Techniques de Diffusion de la FWB

Avec le soutien de
la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles - Service du Théâtre

Remerciements
Martine Wijckaert et Florent Garnier

© Hichem Dahes