Following the multiple measures taken in the fight against the Coronavirus, we are obliged to cancel all Africa simply the best performances initially scheduled. For more information.

Started in 2015 by Serge Aimé Coulibaly to spot up and coming dance talents, the choreographic competition Simply the Best first organized in Bobo-Dioulasso, Burkina Faso is now open to the entire African continent and since 2019 is renamed Africa Simply the Best. Its jury chose the three best contemporary dance solos among 14 preselected entries. The three winners received professional training before leaving on their tour to present their work.

With Le Départ, Cameroonian dancer Zora Snake translates into movement a pivotal moment of life, that of the spark that sets in motion a reinvention of the self. A raw performance based on a text that raises the question of society’s unfair system.

A qui le tour? explores the throes and spasms of a body mourning the loss of  a dear one. Shock, anger, memories, depression, acceptance and rebirth; Cameroonian dancer Agathe Djokam interprets the steps of this difficult process.

Finally Burkinabé dancer Charlemagne Kevin Kabore develops a reflection on humankind in all its diversity in Corps en mutation. The ashes that he uses to delineate his dance space, to purify and to protect, are a symbolic bridge between the world of the living and the hereafter.

Info

  • Venue

    Studio

  • Duration

    100'

  • Surrounding the show

    17.03.2021 - Discussion "Rencontre Constructeurs d’Histoires" after show

Cast

  • Creation and performance 
    Zora Snake Zobel
    Agathe Djokam 
    Kevin Charlemagne Kabore 
    Assistance artistique 
    Serge Aimé Coulibaly 

    Concept and coaching 
    Serge Aimé Coulibaly 

    Coproduction 
    Faso Danse Théâtre, Théâtre National Wallonie- Bruxelles, Tropiques Atrium – Scène nationale de Martinique, Maison de la Danse Lyon

Calendar

  • Tuesday
    20:45
  • Wednesday
    20:15
    Discussion "Rencontre Constructeurs d’Histoires" after show
  • Thursday
    20:45
  • Friday
    20:45
  • Saturday
    20:45

Initié en 2015 par Serge Aimé Coulibaly pour repérer de nouveaux talents de la danse, le concours chorégraphique Simply the Best initialement organisé à Bobo-Dioulasso au Burkina Faso s’est ouvert à tout le continent africain en 2019.  Rebaptisé Africa Simply The Best il a permis à son jury de choisir les trois meilleurs solos de danse contemporaine parmi les 14 présélectionnés. Les trois lauréats du concours ont bénéficié d’un coaching professionnel avant d’entamer leur tournée pour présenter leurs pièces respectives.

Avec Le Départ, le Camerounais Zora Snake met en mouvement un moment charnière de la vie, celui de l’étincelle avant une reconstruction. Une performance à vif à partir d’un texte proféré pour s’élever contre le système injuste de nos sociétés.

À qui le tour ? explore les affres et les spasmes d’un corps en deuil après la perte d’un être cher. Choc, colère, souvenirs, dépression, acceptation et renaissance, la Camerounaise Agathe Djokam interprète les étapes de ce difficile processus.

Enfin, le Burkinabè Charlemagne Kevin Kabore entame avec Corps en mutation une réflexion sur l’être humain dans sa diversité. Par le biais de la cendre qu’il utilise pour délimiter l’espace et comme outil de purification et de protection, il symbolise un pont entre le monde des vivants et l’au-delà.

Infos

  • Lieu

    Studio

  • Durée

    100'

  • Autour du spectacle

    17.03.2021 - Rencontre Constructeurs d’Histoires après spectacle

Distribution

  • Création et performance 
    Zora Snake Zobel
    Agathe Djokam 
    Kevin Charlemagne Kabore 

    Concept et coaching
    Serge Aimé Coulibaly 

    Coproduction 
    Faso Danse Théâtre, Théâtre National Wallonie- Bruxelles, Tropiques Atrium – Scène nationale de Martinique, Maison de la Danse Lyon

Calendrier

  • Mardi
    20:45
  • Mercredi
    20:15
    Rencontre Constructeurs d’Histoires après spectacle
  • Jeudi
    20:45
  • Vendredi
    20:45
  • Samedi
    20:45