Welcome. Two syllables that sound like a promise of meeting, of hospitality. Not for refugees. In our Western societies, the reception of exiles leads to confinement, surveillance and an absence of perspective for those who are uprooted.

For several years, the Nimis groupe has been investigating issues around migration. In 2016, their first show, Ceux que j’ai rencontrés ne m’ont peut-être pas vu, questioned the European Union’s migration policies and their economic implications. With Portraits sans paysage, the collective examines the confinement systems for foreigners and dissects the inner workings of the humanitarian work that takes place in most camps around the world. Even in the least restrictive options – such as open centres – the fate of exiles often involves deprivation of liberty. The foreigner is hidden from view, knowingly placed in the blind spot of our democracies. But the management of these organisations is not disinterested, because humanitarian aid, not without cynicism, has become a business like any other. In an attempt to optimise this aid, to make it supposedly more efficient, digital and biometric devices are now being deployed in the camps by companies winning contracts. The human is erased to make way for data collection.

Through theatrical investigation, Portraits sans paysage will bring together testimonies and speeches on stage. The work will scrutinise the system of these camps from the inside while listening to people familiar with them: detainees, exiles, social workers, humanitarian workers (NGOs or UNHCR), lawyers, psychologists, police officers, but also volunteers, hosts.

Info

Cast

  • Concept
    Nimis groupe

    Writing, directing and performance
    Jeddou Abdel Wahab
    David Botbol
    Pierrick De Luca
    Tiguidanké Diallo Tillman
    Fatou Hane
    Yaël Steinmann
    Anne-Sophie Sterck
    Sarah Testa
    Anja Tillberg

    Assistant director
    Ferdinand Despy

    Scenography
    Val Macé

    Light design and Technical Director
    Nicolas Marty

    Sound design
    Florent Arsac

    Outside view
    Jérôme de Falloise
    Romain David

  • Artistic collaboration and Dramaturgy
    Marie Cosnay
    Léa Macias
    Hassan Yassin

    Cultural affair 
    Marion Lory

    Management, production and touring
    Catherine Hance
    Aurélie Curti
    Laetitia Noldé

    Création Studio Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

    Production
    Nimis / Wirikuta Asbl

    Coproduction
    Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles, Mars - Mons arts de la scène, Théâtre Jean Vilar de Vitry- sur-Seine, Maison de la Culture de Tournai, L’Ancre - Théâtre Royal, le Réel Enjeu (Théâtre Jean Vilar de Vitry-sur-Seine, Théâtre Le 140, L’Ancre - Théâtre Royal, Théâtre de La Cité à Marseille, Théâtre des Doms à Avignon, Le Forum Jacques Prévert à Carros, Théâtre La Renaissance à Mondeville)

    With support from
    Zoo théâtre et Arsenic2

Calendar

  • Thursday
    20:30
  • Friday
    20:30
  • Saturday
    20:30
    Discussion "Rencontre Constructeurs d’Histoires" after show
  • Tuesday
    20:30
    Introduction - 20:00
  • Wednesday
    20:00
    Discussion "Rencontre Constructeurs d’Histoires" after show
  • Thursday
    20:30
  • Friday
    20:30
  • Saturday
    20:30

See also...

Accueil. Deux syllabes qui sonnent comme une promesse de rencontre, d’hospitalité. Pas pour les réfugiés. Dans nos sociétés occidentales, en effet, l’accueil des exilés draine à sa suite enfermement, surveillance et absence de perspective pour les personnes déracinées. 

Depuis plusieurs années, le Nimis groupe questionne les enjeux liés à la migration. En 2016, leur premier spectacle, Ceux que j’ai rencontrés ne m’ont peut-être pas vu interrogeait les politiques migratoires de l’Union européenne et leurs incidences économiques. Avec Portraits sans paysage, le collectif se penche sur les dispositifs d’enfermement pour étrangers et décortique les rouages du travail humanitaire qui se déploie dans la plupart des camps du monde. Même dans les options les plus souples – comme les centres ouverts – le sort qui est réservé aux exilés implique souvent la privation de liberté. L’étranger est soustrait au regard, placé sciemment dans l’angle mort de nos démocraties. Sa gestion n’en est pour autant pas dénuée d’intérêt car l’humanitaire, non sans cynisme, est devenu un business comme un autre. Dans le but d’optimiser cette aide, de la rendre soi-disant plus efficace, des dispositifs numériques et biométriques se déploient aujourd’hui dans les camps par des sociétés qui remportent des marchés. L’humain s’efface pour faire place à la collecte de données. 

Par le biais de l’investigation théâtrale, Portraits sans paysage convoquera sur scène des témoignages, des prises de paroles. Le spectacle scrutera le système de ces camps de l’intérieur en écoutant les personnes qui s’y trouvent enfermées ou qui y travaillent : des détenus, des exilés, des travailleurs sociaux, des humanitaires (ONG ou HCR), des juristes, des psychologues, des policiers, mais aussi des bénévoles, des hébergeurs…

Infos

Distribution

  • Conception
    Nimis groupe

    Écriture, mise en scène et interprétation
    Jeddou Abdel Wahab
    David Botbol
    Pierrick De Luca
    Tiguidanké Diallo Tillman
    Fatou Hane
    Yaël Steinmann
    Anne-Sophie Sterck
    Sarah Testa
    Anja Tillberg

    Assistanat à la mise en scène
    Ferdinand Despy

    Scénographie
    Val Macé

    Création Lumière et Direction Technique
    Nicolas Marty

    Création sonore
    Florent Arsac

    Regards extérieurs
    Jérôme de Falloise
    Romain David

     

  • Collaboration artistique et dramaturgie
    Marie Cosnay
    Léa Macias
    Hassan Yassin

    Médiation culturelle
    Marion Lory

    Administration, production et diffusion
    Catherine Hance
    Aurélie Curti
    Laetitia Noldé

    Création Studio Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

    Production
    Nimis / Wirikuta Asbl

    Coproduction
    Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles, Mars - Mons arts de la scène, Théâtre Jean Vilar de Vitry- sur-Seine, Maison de la Culture de Tournai, L’Ancre - Théâtre Royal, le Réel Enjeu (Théâtre Jean Vilar de Vitry-sur-Seine, Théâtre Le 140, L’Ancre - Théâtre Royal, Théâtre de La Cité à Marseille, Théâtre des Doms à Avignon, Le Forum Jacques Prévert à Carros, Théâtre La Renaissance à Mondeville)

    Avec le soutien de 
    Zoo théâtre et Arsenic2

Calendrier

  • Jeudi
    20:30
  • Vendredi
    20:30
  • Samedi
    20:30
  • Mardi
    20:30
    Introduction - 20:00
  • Mercredi
    20:00
    Rencontre Constructeurs d’Histoires après spectacle
  • Jeudi
    20:30
  • Vendredi
    20:30
  • Samedi
    20:30

Et aussi...