Skip to main content
Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

Urban Dance Caravan

14.09.2024 · 15:00
Battle – Choreographic tours

Urban Dance Caravan was born of a powerful desire to invent and share new dance forms routes in Brussels (a city-region that is home to multiple cultures and languages), Wallonia and far beyond. Where dance that engages the body, welcoming what is around it and projecting itself into what comes next, is both an expression of freedom and a way of living well.

Thought through and (jointly) constructed with Detours – the Brussels festival of urban dance and street art – and the Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles, Urban Dance Caravan – a new kind of association that rekindles cultural and social dynamics – consists of a wide range of urban dances that feel, experience and cross the city centre, from square to square, leading us to the heart of the Théâtre National.

Over the course of a Saturday afternoon, dancers from all over Belgium will gather around the finalists of the Detours Battles from Wallonia – Verviers, La Louvière, Liège – and Brussels as well as from the Congo, Rwanda, Côte d’Ivoire, Argentina and Costa Rica. They will perform on ephemeral stages from Bourse to Place De Brouckère and on to Boulevard Émile Jacqmain, leading the crowd to the main stage of the Théâtre National for the final battle of the Detours Cyphers

Thanks to radical hospitality, human, creative and poetic links are forged between Brussels and Wallonia, Europe, America and Africa, to promote better understanding among cultures and the free circulation of audiences and artists capable of changing the way we pay attention and the way we perceive things. In its raw simplicity, Urban Dance Caravan shifts the edges of the city and those of the theatre.

Corealisation Detours Festival, Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles
With the participation of the Goma Dance Festival
With the support of the Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles service de la danse, la COCOF,
la Loterie Nationale, Africalia, la Ville de Bruxelles - Échevinat de la Culture

Calendar

Information

Venue

Hors les murs & Grande salle

Price

Free

Le Rideau de saison, Maak & Transmettre · photos : Lucile Dizier, 2024

Passer au contenu principal
Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

Urban Dance Caravan

14.09.2024 · 15:00
Battle – Parcours chorégraphiques

L’Urban Dance Caravan est née d’un désir puissant d’inventer de nouvelles formes en commun(s) et des circulations dansées dans Bruxelles – ville et région aux cultures et langues multiples –, en Wallonie et bien au-delà. Où la danse qui engage le corps, en accueillant ce qui l’entoure et se projetant dans ce qui vient, est à la fois pratique de la liberté et bien-vivre.

Réfléchie, (co)construite par Detours – le festival bruxellois de danses urbaines & street art – et le Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles, l’Urban Dance Caravan – nouvelle forme d’association qui réactive les dynamiques culturelles et sociales – est un vaste dégradé de danses urbaines qui ressentent, éprouvent et traversent le centre-ville, de place en place, pour nous mener au cœur du Théâtre National.

Le temps d’un samedi, des danseur·ses venu·es de toute la Belgique, rassemblé·es autour des finalistes des Battles Detours de Wallonie – Verviers, La Louvière, Liège – et de Bruxelles, du Congo, du Rwanda, de la Côte d’Ivoire, de l’Argentine et du Costa Rica, performent sur des scènes éclairs, de la Bourse à la Place De Brouckère, jusqu’à emmener la foule sur le grand plateau du Théâtre National pour le battle final des Detours Cyphers

S’y tracent, grâce à une hospitalité radicale, des liens humains, créatifs et poétiques, entre Bruxelles et la Wallonie, l’Europe, l’Amérique et l’Afrique, pour une meilleure compréhension mutuelle entre les cultures, une circulation multi-fléchée des publics et des artistes, capables de changer nos modes d’attention et de perception. Dans sa simplicité brute, Urban Dance Caravan déplace les bords de la ville et ceux du théâtre.

Coréalisation Detours Festival, Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles
Avec la participation de Goma Dance Festival
Avec le soutien de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles service de la danse, la COCOF,
la Loterie Nationale, Africalia, la Ville de Bruxelles - Échevinat de la Culture

Calendrier

  • - 15:00

Informations

Lieu

Hors les murs & Grande salle

Tarif

Gratuit

Le Rideau de saison, Maak & Transmettre · photos : Lucile Dizier, 2024