Théâtre National

Le Chœur d’Ali Aarrass

Ali Arrass' Choir

Julie Jaroszewski

Tickets

A choir of women whose voices unite in song “for Ali”. A Belgo Moroccan citizen, Ali Aarrass was suspected of terrorism and arrested in Spain in 2008. Tried and having had his case dismissed, he was then illegally extradited to Morocco, a country in which he had never lived. He has been incarcerated since 2010 on the basis of a confession extracted under torture. Amnesty International and several Belgian artists have asked the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to intervene but to no avail.

United around Farida Aarrass, Ali’s sister, are militants, actresses, professional and amateur singers all gathering strength from this activist sorority. Music and theatre power their actions and grant them an escape from tragedy. A tragedy from the colonial continuum since 1492 that Julie Jaroszewski translates in five acts to expose the complex story of Ali Aarrass and put it back into play. This story places at its center the story of all binationals.

Image
© Alice Piemme

Info

Duration

90’

Venue

Grande salle

About the show

discussions after shows 23 > 27.04.2019

Sound level

category 2

Cast

Text and direction
Julie Jaroszewski

Writing collaboration
Farida et Ali Aarrass
Alex C., Ludovic Drouet, Nadia Fadil, Luk Veraet

Direction assistant
Anne Festraets

Music
Célia Tranchand

Video design
Pauline Fonsny

Scenography & light
Aurore Leduc

Making cards
Sylvie Olivier

Making masks
Laurence Petit

Costumes
Houria El-Ouazghari

With
Farida Aarrass, Diana Abouzeid, Sophie Delacollette, Felisa Cerceda, Oriane Calligaro,  Maud Cattiaux, Marie-Francoise Cordemans,  Noémie Décroix, Mahdiya El-Ouiali, Nadia Fadil, Annabelle Giudice, Anais Moffarts, Hélène Morvan, Sylvie Olivier, Nadège Ouedraogo,  Laurence Petit, Christine Pierard, Nathalie Preudhomme, Catherine Rans,  Nadège Ouedraogo, Célia Tranchand

Production
La Baleine Noire asbl, Insaf Takkal, Christine Pierard, Annabelle Guidice, Leïla Di Gregorio, Julie Jaroszewski, Rose Alenne

With the support of
La Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Maison des cultures de Saint-Gilles, La Paséthèque Royale, Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

Théâtre National

Le Chœur d’Ali Aarrass

Julie Jaroszewski

Tickets

Un chœur de femmes rassemblées dont les voix s’élèvent et s’entremêlent « pour Ali ». Citoyen belgo-marocain, Ali Aarrass a été soupçonné de terrorisme et arrêté en Espagne en 2008. Jugé et ayant bénéficié d’un non-lieu, il est ensuite illégalement extradé vers le Maroc, où il n’a pourtant jamais vécu. Il y est emprisonné depuis 2010 à la suite d’aveux obtenus sous la torture. Amnesty International ainsi que de nombreux artistes belges ont appelé plusieurs fois le ministère des affaires étrangères à intervenir. En vain.

Soudées autour de Farida Aarrass, la sœur d’Ali, militantes, comédiennes, chanteuses professionnelles et amatrices se mobilisent et puisent leur force dans cette sororité. La musique et le théâtre redonnent de la puissance à leur action afin d’échapper à la tragédie. Une tragédie au continuum colonial depuis 1492, que Julie Jaroszewski traduit en 5 actes afin d’exposer le récit complexe d’Ali Aarrass et le remettre en jeu. A travers cette histoire c’est bien l’histoire de tous les binationaux qui est au centre du propos.

Image
© Alice Piemme

Infos

Durée

90’

Lieu

Grande salle

Autour du spectacle

rencontres après spectacles 23 > 27.04.2019

Niveau sonore

catégorie 2

Distribution

Texte et mise en scène
Julie Jaroszewski

Assistante à la mise en scène
Anne Festraets

Direction du chœur
Célia Tranchand

Le Choryphée
Farida Aarrass

Actrices et chanteuses professionnelles
Nadège Ouedraogo, Sophie Delacolette, Célia Tranchand, Catherine Rans

Femmes du chœur
Chloé Houyoux, Elizabeth Ocasey, Farida Aarrass, Laurence Petit, Mahdiya el Ouali, Marie Francoise Cordemans, Maud Cattiaux, Nadia el Khattabi, Naima Zegoud, Nathalie Preudhomme, Oriane Calligaro, Rose Bekaert, Sylvie Olivier, Christine Pierard

Création vidéo
Pauline Fonsny

Scénographie et lumière
Aurore Leduc

Production
La Baleine Noire asbl, Leïla Di Gregorio

Stagiaire de production
Insaf Takkal


Scénographie, son et lumières
En cours

Production
La Baleine Noire asbl

Avec le soutien
la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles 2013, Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles – Direction du Théâtre – Conseil d’aide aux projets théâtraux, Maison des cultures de Saint-Gilles, Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles