Following the multiple measures taken in the fight against the Coronavirus, we are obliged to cancel all EXTREME / MALECANE performances initially scheduled. For more information.

In the last few years Europe has been experiencing a resurgence of nationalist parties. In France, Italy, Spain, Belgium, Hungary, and Greece political groups are espousing populist identity politics. Among the people attracted to these far right ideas are young people, sometimes very young, who are wide open to ideas that were totally unacceptable just a short while ago. Paola Pisciottano, a director who was a student at the INSAS, investigates this accession of European youth to certain ideals. For three years she has conducted research in four countries questioning the feeling of emptiness that these political movements try to respond to. With EXTREME / MALECANE she sees it from the inside, by meeting  and interviewing many, whom she listens to without judgment.

“My approach is to try to go beyond political analysis to be able to grasp the aspects tied to experience, to the feeling of belonging and the emotionality that are the basis for the propagation of fundamental movements.”

This documentary material is given to four actors who hail from countries with rising nationalist extremism. Their personal experiences meld with the words of the young interviewees as well as material culled from the internet. In a raw esthetic the four actors retrace the movement that has led to the recent history.

 

08.05.2021 – 16:00 – Salle Jacques Huisman
Rencontres
EUROPE ? Redéfinir la promesse Européenne
En collaboration avec l’Institut d’Etudes Européennes, Université Libre de Bruxelles.

→ Complete program listings will be available early February 2021 on www.iee-ulb.eu

Info

  • Language

    FR

  • Venue

    Salle Jacques Huisman

  • Surrounding the show

    05.05.2021 - Discussion "Rencontre Constructeurs d’Histoires" after show

  • See also...

    EUROPE HITS

Cast

  • Concept & direction 
    Paola Pisciottano 

    With
    Marios Bellas
    Debora Binci
    Esther Gouarné
    Aymeric Trionfo

    Direction assistant 
    Michele De Luca 

    Dramaturgy 
    Olmo Missaglia 

    Technical direction 
    Gaspard Samyn 

    Space and lights
    Sibylle Cabello 

    Outside view 
    Olivier Hespel 

    Production 
    Olmo Missaglia 
    Meryl Moens 

  • Coproduction
    Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles, Théâtre Jean Vilar, Vitry-sur-Seine, Théâtre de Liège, La Coop asbl 

    Supports 
    La Bellone Maison du spectacle, Campsirago Residenza, Théâtre Océan Nord, Centre Culturel de Chênée, Le Réel Enjeu 2018, Théâtre La Cité, Théâtre des Doms, L’ANCRE-Théâtre Royal de Charleroi, Forum Jacques Prévert, Théâtre Jean Vilar de Vitry-sur-Seine, Programme Jeune Producteur 2018 de MoDul / Shelterprod / Taxshelter.be / ING / Tax-Shelter du Gouvernement Fédéral Belge 

    With help from
    Ministère de la Culture de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles - Service du Théâtre 

    Le projet est issu d’une recherche documentaire réalisée avec l’aide du Réseau de prise en charge des extrémismes et des radicalismes violents. Centre de Ressources et d’Appui (CREA) de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles 

Calendar

  • Tuesday
    20:00
  • Wednesday
    19:30
    Discussion "Rencontre Constructeurs d’Histoires" after show
  • Thursday
    20:00
  • Friday
    20:00
  • Saturday
    20:00
    Rencontre "Europe ? Redéfinir la promesse Européenne" et Soirée "Europe Hits"

See also...

Depuis plusieurs années, l’Europe connaît une résurgence des partis nationalistes. En France, Italie, Allemagne, Espagne, Belgique, Hongrie, Grèce des groupes politiques prônent un discours identitaire au relent populiste. Parmi les sympathisants de ces idées d’extrême droite, des jeunes, parfois très jeunes, qui prêtent le flanc à des prises de position hier encore dénoncées. Paola Pisciottano, metteuse en scène italienne formée notamment à l’INSAS, s’interroge sur l’adhésion de la jeunesse européenne à certains idéaux. Pendant trois ans elle a conduit une recherche à travers quatre pays questionnant le sentiment de vide auquel ces mouvements politiques tentent de donner une réponse. Avec EXTREME / MALECANE elle s’y penche de l’intérieur, en multipliant les rencontres et les interviews qu’elle écoute sans juger.

« Ma démarche est de tenter d'aller au-delà de l'analyse politique pour pouvoir saisir les aspects liés à l’expérience, au sentiment d’appartenance et à l’émotivité́ qui sont à la base de la diffusion des mouvements intégristes ».

Cette matière documentaire est livrée à quatre interprètes issus d’un pays en prise avec la montée des extrémismes. Leur propre vécu se mêle aux paroles des jeunes interviewés ainsi qu'à des matériaux provenant d’internet. Dans une esthétique brute, les quatre acteurs retracent le mouvement qui a amené à l’Histoire récente.

Infos

  • Langue

    FR

  • Lieu

    Salle Jacques Huisman

  • Autour du spectacle

    05.05.2021 - Rencontre Constructeurs d’Histoires après spectacle

  • Et aussi...

    EUROPE HITS

Distribution

  • Concept et mise en scène 
    Paola Pisciottano 

    Avec
    Yannis Adrimis 
    Debora Binci 
    Esther Gouarné 
    Aurélien Vandenbeyvanghe 

    Assistanat à la mise en scène 
    Michele De Luca 

    Collaboration à la dramaturgie
    Olmo Missaglia 

    Direction technique 
    Gaspard Samyn 

    Espace et lumières 
    Sibylle Cabello 

    Regard extérieur 
    Olivier Hespel 

    Production 
    Olmo Missaglia 
    Meryl Moens 
    MoDul-bolognaprocess asbl 

  • Coproduction 
    Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles, Théâtre Jean Vilar, Vitry-sur-Seine, Théâtre de Liège, La Coop asbl 

    Soutiens 
    La Bellone Maison du spectacle, Campsirago Residenza, Théâtre Océan Nord, Centre Culturel de Chênée, Le Réel Enjeu 2018, Théâtre La Cité, Théâtre des Doms, L’ANCRE-Théâtre Royal de Charleroi, Forum Jacques Prévert, Théâtre Jean Vilar de Vitry-sur-Seine, Programme Jeune Producteur 2018 de MoDul / Shelterprod / Taxshelter.be / ING / Tax-Shelter du Gouvernement Fédéral Belge 

    Avec l’aide du
    Ministère de la Culture de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles - Service du Théâtre 

    Le projet est issu d’une recherche documentaire réalisée avec l’aide du Réseau de prise en charge des extrémismes et des radicalismes violents. Centre de Ressources et d’Appui (CREA) de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles 

Calendrier

  • Mardi
    20:00
  • Mercredi
    19:30
    Rencontre Constructeurs d’Histoires après spectacle
  • Jeudi
    20:00
  • Vendredi
    20:00
  • Samedi
    20:00
    Rencontre "Europe ? Redéfinir la promesse Européenne" et Soirée "Europe Hits"

Et aussi...