Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

Closing Party
(arrivederci e grazie)

Alessandro Bernardeschi
Mauro Paccagnella

27.09 > 01.10.2022
Dance

After Happy Hour and El pueblo unido jamás será vencido, Alessandro Bernardeschi and Mauro Paccagnella conclude their Trilogie de la Mémoire (Memory Trilogy) with Closing Party (arrivederci e grazie). This closing ball without sequins, both absurd and ironic, makes us think and see the last convulsions of the great utopias of History. The final part of a juicy triptych depicting the escapades of the fifties, Closing Party (arrivederci e grazie) invokes the end and the breathlessness as a possible new beginning; where intimate memories and collective memory intertwine to form one body.

Alessandro and Mauro imprint the gestures and deploy their trajectories, from Marianne Faithfull to Béjart’s Boléro, the Italian leaden years to Pier Paolo Pasolini, from feathers to wigs. Not to mention the tutus.

But all of this would be nothing without the delicate beauty of their aging dancers’ bodies, reinforcing the political character of the piece where age is no longer just the metaphorical background but indeed constitutes the heart of the choreographic phrase. A dance for two, a farewell waltz, ironic and wacky, a final ball both serious and light whose scenic score is based on a disturbing double game.

Calendar

Information

Duration

55'

Venue

Salle Jacques Huisman

Cast

Direction
Alessandro Bernardeschi
Mauro Paccagnella

With
Alessandro Bernardeschi
Mauro Paccagnella
Ares D’Angelo

Light Design
Simon Stenmans

Video design
Stéphane Broc

Sound design
Eric Ronsse

Music dramaturgy
Alessandro Bernardeschi avec Simon & Garfunkel, Cœur de l’Armée Rouge, Extrait de Saló et les 120 journées de Sodome, Nilla Pizzi, Ravel, Sylvester, Lucio Battisti, Anna Magnani, Nina Simone, Marianne Faithfull, Edvard Grieg, Umberto Bindi, Paul Simon Régisseur Simon Stenmans

Production
Wooshing Machine

Co-production
Les Brigittines et Charleroi danse – Centre Chorégraphique de la Fédération de Wallonie-Bruxelles

With the support from
la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles et de la Communauté Française

Special thanks to
Lisa Gunstone, Fabienne Damiean

Everything is very quiet
Everyone has gone to sleep
I’m wide awake on memories
These memories can’t wait

Talking Heads

© Stéphane Broc

Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

Closing Party
(arrivederci e grazie)

Alessandro Bernardeschi
Mauro Paccagnella

27.09 > 01.10.2022
Danse

Après Happy Hour et El pueblo unido jamás será vencido, Alessandro Bernardeschi et Mauro Paccagnella concluent leur Trilogie de la mémoire avec Closing Party (arrivederci e grazie). Ce bal de clôture sans paillette, à la fois absurde et ironique, nous donne à penser et à voir les derniers soubresauts des grandes utopies de l’Histoire. Dernier volet d’un savoureux triptyque dépeignant les frasques de la cinquantaine, Closing Party (arrivederci e grazie) invoque la fin et l’essoufflement comme nouveaux départs possibles, là où souvenirs intimes et mémoire collective s’entrelacent pour faire corps.

Alessandro et Mauro impriment les gestes et déploient leurs trajectoires, de Marianne Faithfull au Boléro de Béjart, des années de plomb italiennes à Pier Paolo Pasolini, des plumes aux perruques. Sans oublier les tutus. 

Mais tout cela ne serait rien sans la beauté délicate de leurs corps de danseurs vieillissants, renforçant le caractère politique de la pièce où l’âge n’est plus seulement l’arrière-plan métaphorique mais constitue bel et bien le cœur de la phrase chorégraphique. Une danse à deux, une valse des adieux, ironique et loufoque, un dernier bal à la fois grave et léger dont la partition scénique s’appuie sur un troublant jeu de double.

Calendrier

Informations

Durée

55'

Lieu

Salle Jacques Huisman

Distribution

Metteurs en scène 
Alessandro Bernardeschi
Mauro Paccagnella

Avec
Alessandro Bernardeschi
Mauro Paccagnella 
Ares D’Angelo

Créateur lumières
Simon Stenmans

Vidéo
Stéphane Broc

Créateur son 
Eric Ronsse

Dramaturge musique 
Alessandro Bernardeschi avec Simon & Garfunkel, Cœur de l’Armée Rouge, Extrait de Saló et les 120 journées de Sodome, Nilla Pizzi, Ravel, Sylvester, Lucio Battisti, Anna Magnani, Nina Simone, Marianne Faithfull, Edvard Grieg, Umberto Bindi, Paul Simon Régisseur Simon Stenmans

Production 
Wooshing Machine

Coproduction 
Les Brigittines et Charleroi danse – Centre Chorégraphique de la Fédération de Wallonie-Bruxelles

Avec le soutien de
la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles et de la Communauté Française Remerciements Lisa Gunstone, Fabienne Damiean

Everything is very quiet
Everyone has gone to sleep
I’m wide awake on memories
These memories can’t wait

Talking Heads

© Stéphane Broc