Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

SIMPLE

Ayelen Parolin

13 > 21.01.2023
Dance

Using movement as a driving force to investigate simplicity. Working the choreographic space like a playground. Exploring naivety, instinct, childhood. Activating an imagination wide open to the unplanned. This is where it all starts: simplicity is a danced wasteland. SIMPLE adds laughter to it, and leaves us euphoric.

The bodies, the movement and the phrases of the dance, the landscapes are dilapidated. This decay is the sign of a repetitive dance, constantly redistributed, uninhibited. The dancers Baptiste Cazaux, Piet Defrancq and Daan Jaartsveld molded in speckled, psychedelic jumpsuits cheerfully play with the codes of classical ballet and contemporary dance. They skip, deconstruct, repeat and test the sound against a backdrop splashed with colour, like a playful nod to Merce Cunningham’s Summerspace. In SIMPLE, inseparable from WEG, three big kids jump around cheerfully performing the most improbable gestures, delighted to arouse the interest and the laughter of the public.

Such is the state of this world: dancing, cheeky, deeply jubilant and playful. Its extreme rigor and absolute honesty always direct the quest of the Argentinian-born, Brussels-based choreographer towards other vibrant, radiant pulsations.

Ayelen Parolin is an associate artist at the Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles.

Calendar

Information

Duration

55'

Venue

Studio

Cast

Direction
Ayelen Parolin

With
Baptiste Cazaux
Piet Defrancq
Daan Jaartsveld

Choreography assistant
Julie Bougard

Dramaturgy
Olivier Hespel

Outside view
Alessandro Bernardeschi

Set design & dressmaker
Marie Szersnovicz

Dressmaker
Atelier du Théâtre de Liège

Light design
Laurence Halloy

Visuals
Cécile Barraud de Lagerie

Production
Claire Geyer

Touring
internationale Key

Performance Production RUDA asbl Coproduction et accueil en résidences Charleroi danse, Le Centquatre-Paris, Théâtre de Liège, CCN de Tours, MA Scène Nationale - Pays de Montbéliard, Les Brigittines, DC&J Création, CDCN Roubaix/Hauts-de-France

With the support from
Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, de Wallonie-Bruxelles International, du Tax Shelter du Gouvernement fédéral de Belgique et d’Inver Tax Shelter Remerciements Oren Boneh et Jeanne Colin

Special thanks to
Oren Boneh et Jeanne Colin

© François Declercq

Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

SIMPLE

Ayelen Parolin

13 > 21.01.2023
Danse

Questionner la simplicité en usant du mouvement comme force motrice, en travaillant l’espace chorégraphique comme un terrain de jeux, en explorant la naïveté, l’instinct, l’enfance. Activer un imaginaire grand ouvert à l’impromptu. C’est de là que tout part : la simplicité est une friche dansée. SIMPLE y joint le rire et nous laisse euphoriques.

Les corps, le mouvement et les phrases dansées, les paysages déglingués. Cette déglingue est ici le signe d’une danse répétitive, sans cesse redistribuée, désinhibée. Les danseurs Baptiste Cazaux, Piet Defrancq et Daan Jaartsveld moulés dans des combinaisons mouchetées, psychédéliques, jouent allégrement des codes du ballet classique et de la danse contemporaine. Ils sautillent, déconstruisent, répètent, tâtent le geste sonore sur un fond de scène éclaboussé de couleurs, comme un clin d’œil espiègle au Summerspace de Merce Cunningham. SIMPLE, inséparable de WEG, fait sautiller trois grands gamins qui, allègrement, enchaînent les gestes les plus improbables, ravis de susciter l’intérêt et les rires du public.

Tel est l’état de ce monde : dansant, effronté, profondément jubilatoire et ludique. La rigueur extrême et l’honnêteté absolue orientent toujours la quête de la chorégraphe – née en Argentine, qui vit et travaille à Bruxelles – vers d’autres pulsations vibrantes, irradiantes.

Ayelen Parolin est artiste associée au Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles.

18.01.2023 – rencontre après spectacle
19.01.2023 · 20:00 – introduction au spectacle

Calendrier

Informations

Durée

55'

Lieu

Studio

Distribution

Metteuse en scène
Ayelen Parolin

Avec
Baptiste Cazaux
Piet Defrancq
Daan Jaartsveld

Assistante chorégraphie
Julie Bougard

Dramaturge
Olivier Hespel

Regard extérieur
Alessandro Bernardeschi

Scénographe et costumière
Marie Szersnovicz

Costumes
Atelier du Théâtre de Liège

Créatrice lumières
Laurence Halloy

Visuels 
Cécile Barraud de Lagerie

Production 
Claire Geyer

Diffusion internationale 
Key Performance

Production
RUDA asbl

Coproduction et accueil en résidences 
Charleroi danse, Le Centquatre-Paris, Théâtre de Liège, CCN de Tours, MA Scène Nationale - Pays de Montbéliard, Les Brigittines, DC&J Création, CDCN Roubaix/Hauts-de-France

Avec le soutien de la
Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, de Wallonie-Bruxelles International, du Tax Shelter du Gouvernement fédéral de Belgique et d’Inver Tax Shelter

Remerciements
Oren Boneh et Jeanne Colin

© François Declercq