Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

“put your heart under your feet… and walk!”

Steven Cohen

24 > 28.01.2023
Performance – Dance

”How do I continue to live and create after the loss of my soul mate?” Steven Cohen asks his 96-year-old adoptive granny following the death in 2016 of dancer Elu Kieser, his companion. ”Put your heart under your feet... and walk” she replies.

And it is for Steven Cohen to walk and indulge in a rite of passage of rare power. Through this performance, he invites us to pay tribute to the man who was a child, passionate about ballet, in a South Africa marked by Apartheid, racism and homophobia, and who was therefore oppressed; to he with whom he shared twenty years of love, art, life and creation.

While the voices of Marianne Faithfull and Léonard Cohen mingle and juxtapose themselves with images of a clandestine purifying performance filmed in a slaughterhouse, Steven Cohen presents himself as a creature made up of butterfly wings and rhinestones, his body transformed into a work of art. Perched on platform heels in the shape of coffins, he walks between the deceased man’s pairs of pointe shoes, as if through the minefield of their shared past. The moving requiem offered by Steven Cohen ventures into the realm of mourning, offering himself to his lost love as a living burial.

The choreographer, performer and visual artist who calls himself ”homosexual, Jewish, White from South Africa”, is also presenting his latest creation, Boudoir, at the Halles de Schaerbeek this year.

Première belge

Calendar

Information

Duration

60'

Venue

Grande salle

Cast

Direction
Steven Cohen

Choregraphy
Steven Cohen

Scenography
Steven Cohen

Outside view
Catherine Cossa

Costumes
Steven Cohen

Light design
Yvan Labasse

Video
Richard Muller & SHU

Video direction
Baptiste Evrard

Management
Samuel Mateu

Production
Cie Steven Cohen

Co-production
humain Trop humain - Centre Dramatique National (Montpellier), Montpellier Danse, Dance Umbrella (Johannesburg)

With the support of
La DRAC Nouvelle-Aquitaine

La Compagnie Steven Cohen est soutenue par la DRAC Nouvelle-Aquitaine et le Conseil Départemental de la Gironde.

© Allan Thiebault
© Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

“put your heart under your feet… and walk!”

Steven Cohen

24 > 28.01.2023
Performance – Danse

« Comment continuer à vivre et à créer après la perte de mon âme sœur ? » demande Steven Cohen à sa nounou-mère adoptive de 96 ans après le décès en 2016 d’Elu Kieser, son compagnon danseur. « Mets ton cœur sous tes pieds… et marche ! » lui répond-elle.

Et Steven Cohen de marcher et se livrer à un rituel de passage d’une puissance rare. Au travers de cette performance, il invite à un hommage à celui qui fut un enfant passionné de ballet dans une Afrique du Sud marquée par l’Apartheid, le racisme et l’homophobie, et qui pour cela fut opprimé ; à celui avec lequel il partagea vingt ans d’amour, d’art, de vie et de création.

Alors que les voix de Marianne Faithfull et de Léonard Cohen se mêlent et se juxtaposent aux images d’une performance purificatrice filmée clandestinement dans un abattoir, Steven Cohen se donne à voir en créature maquillée d’ailes de papillon et de strass, le corps transformé en œuvre d’art. Juché sur des cothurnes en forme de cercueils, il chemine entre les paires de pointes de danse du défunt, comme dans le champ miné de leur passé commun. Le requiem bouleversant que propose Steven Cohen s’aventure aux confins du deuil pour s’offrir à son amour perdu en guise de sépulture vivante.

Première belge

27.01.2023 · 19:30 – introduction au spectacle

Calendrier

Informations

Durée

60'

Lieu

Grande salle

Distribution

Metteur en scène et interprète
Steven Cohen

Chorégraphe
Steven Cohen

Scénographe
Steven Cohen

Regard extérieur
Catherine Cossa

Costumier
Steven Cohen

Créateur lumières
Yvan Labasse

Vidéo
Richard Muller & SHU

Régisseur vidéo
Baptiste Evrard

Management
Samuel Mateu

Production
Cie Steven Cohen

Coproduction
humain Trop humain - Centre Dramatique National (Montpellier), Montpellier Danse, Dance Umbrella (Johannesburg)

Avec l’aide de la
DRAC Nouvelle-Aquitaine

La Compagnie Steven Cohen est soutenue par la DRAC Nouvelle-Aquitaine et le Conseil Départemental de la Gironde.

© Allan Thiebault
© Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles