Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

Rage

Emilienne Flagothier

04 > 08.04.2023
Theater

The boss who calls you ”darling”. The colleague who tends to explain things to you more than necessary. The teacher who jokes about your appearance. The subway cleaner who takes advantage of the crowd gathered in the wagon. The boyfriend who gets angry a little too fast. The grocer who compliments you. The stranger whistling at you in street. Confident, no one imagines, for a single second, having to face a counter-attack. But that could change...

Inspired by real events, Emilienne Flagothier rewrites these daily stories of violence against women. Fueling their ”Rage” to face trivialization. The artist experiments by creating a space where the relationships are reversed. They regain a form of power by unleashing violence on those who attack them. The theatre becomes the political place of a transformative power to act: in the reconstruction of the scenes, the taiser of yesterday becomes the offensive woman. Alternately, they are the Amazon, the rioter, the resistant, the rebel, in the fight against male domination, against everyday sexism?

This is perhaps one of the essential questions that Rage asks. This is perhaps the whole meaning of Emilienne Flagothier’s artistic gesture: embodying the emergence of a ”fourth wave” feminism. Where the fighter woman confronts head-on all the violence that is done to them.

Production Mars-Mons arts de la scène
Coproduction Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

Calendar

Information

Language

fr

Venue

Grande salle

Cast

Direction
Emilienne Flagothier

With
Sarah Grin
Castélie Yalombo
Pauline Victoria
Pénélope Guimas

Artistic collaboration and assistante
Magrit Coulon

Outside view
Aurélien Leforestier

Scenography
Clémence Jussaume

Dramaturgy
Céline Estenne

Technical director and Lights design
Emma Laroche

Sound design
Louise Blancardi

Fights
Emilie Guillaume

© Julie Lacombe Deschandol & Marie Duval

Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

Rage

Emilienne Flagothier

04 > 08.04.2023
Théâtre

Le patron qui t’appelle « ma belle ». Le collègue qui a tendance à t’expliquer plus que nécessaire les choses. Le prof qui plaisante sur la longueur de ta jupe. Le frotteur du métro qui profite de la foule massée dans la rame. Le petit ami qui s’énerve un peu trop vite, un peu trop fort. L’épicier qui te complimente parce que tu es très jolie. L’inconnu qui te siffle dans la rue. Confiants, aucun n’imagine, une seule seconde, devoir faire face à une contre-attaque. Mais cela pourrait changer.

Inspirée de faits réels, Emilienne Flagothier réécrit ces histoires quotidiennes de violences faites aux femmes. Alimentant sa « Rage » pour faire face à la banalisation. L’artiste expérimente en créant un espace où les rapports s’inversent. Elle reprend une forme de pouvoir par un déferlement de violence sur celui qui l’attaque. Le théâtre devient le lieu politique d’une puissance d’agir transformatrice : dans la reconstitution des scènes, la taiseuse d’hier devient la femme offensive. Tour à tour, elle est l’amazone, l’émeutière, la résistante, l’insoumise, en lutte contre la domination masculine, le sexisme ordinaire.

Pour se réconcilier, faut-il affronter ? C’est peut-être l’une des questions essentielles que pose Rage. C’est peut-être tout le sens du geste artistique d’Emilienne Flagothier : incarner l’émergence d’un féminisme de « quatrième vague » où la femme battante affronte de manière frontale toutes les violences qui lui sont faites.

Production Mars-Mons arts de la scène
Coproduction Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles 
Avec l’aide du Ministère de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Service du Théâtre, de taxshelter.be, ING & tax-shelter du Gouvernement fédéral belge

05.04.2023 – rencontre après spectacle
06.04.2023 · 19:30 – introduction au spectacle

Calendrier

Informations

Langue

fr

Lieu

Grande salle

Distribution

Texte
Emilienne Flagothier

Metteuse en scène
Emilienne Flagothier

Interprétation
Castelie Yalombo
Pénélope Guimas
Sarah Grin
Pauline Desmet

Assistanat à la mise en scène
Magrit Coulon

Oeil extérieur 
Aurélien Leforestier

Scénographie
Camille Lavaud

Dramaturge
Céline Estenne

Directrice technique et créatrice lumière
Louise Blancardi

Création sonore
Emma Laroche

Coach
Emilie Guillaume

© Julie Lacombe Deschandol & Marie Duval
© Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles