Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

WEG

Ayelen Parolin

19 > 22.04.2023
Dance

Why is WEG by Ayelen Parolin, a choreographer unique in contemporary dance, so surprising? Where do these sparks come from? Surely it comes from the grace which arises from the out of crazy dance. This grace can only happen on the bare and white stage, in the here and now, with eight dancers in festive outfits: here, lamé shorts; there, a candy pink leotard; elsewhere, the misty ruffles. You only have to see the joy with which they dance, the voluntarily multiple, extravagant, abundant and tumultuous movement. To the offbeat, uneven music of pianist and composer Lea Petra, they dare to step into colourfulness.

WEG works on the progressive disruption of the choreographic phrase of each dancer resulting in a cacophony of uninhibited gestures and attitudes. The dance slides openly towards a process of self-organization but a process of self-organization regulated by the dynamic systems of physicist Pierre C. Dauby.

With almost surgical precision, from Yuval Noah Harari’s best-selling Sapiens: A Brief History of Humanity to her longing for humans dancing to the rhythm of her own vibration – without making it explicit – Ayelen Parolin plays a disturbing ambiguity between mastery and repression, humour and elegance.

Ayelen Parolin is an associate artist at the Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles.

Calendar

  • - 20:30

    Afternoon performance

  • - 20:30

    Introduction · 20:00

  • - 20:30
  • - 20:30

Information

Duration

60'

Venue

Studio

Cast

Choregraphy
Ayelen Parolin

With
Daniel Barkan
Baptiste Cazaux
Jeanne Colin
Piet Defrancq
Daan Jaartsveld
Kinga Jaczewska
Dan Mussett 
Bianca Zueneli

Choreography assistant
Julie Bougard

Dramaturgy
Olivier Hespel

Dressmaker
Wim Muyllaert

Light design
Laurence Halloy

Music composition and live performance
Lea Petra

Operator
Gaspar Schelck

Production
Claire Geyer

Production
RUDA asbl et DC&J Création

Co-Production
 Charleroi danse, Théâtre de Liège, Tanz Im August / HAU Hebbel am ufer, Atelier de Paris / CDCN, Theater Freiburg (D)

With the support from
la Fédération Wallonie – Bruxelles, WBI, WBT/D, du Tax Shelter du gouvernement Fédéral de Belgique, d’Inver Tax Shelter et de la Loterie Nationale

Special thanks to
Pierre C. Dauby Accueil Studio Charleroi danse / La Raffinerie & Les Écuries, Studio Thor, Pianofabriek

© Dajana Lothert

Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles

WEG

Ayelen Parolin

19 > 22.04.2023
Danse

Pourquoi WEG de Ayelen Parolin, chorégraphe à part dans la danse contemporaine, est-il si surprenant ? D’où viennent ces étincelles ? Sans doute de cette grâce qui surgit de la danse détraquée. Cette grâce-là ne peut advenir que sur le plateau nu et blanc, dans l’ici et maintenant, avec huit danseur·ses en tenues de fête : ici, le short en lamé ; là, le justaucorps rose bonbon ; là encore, la collerette vaporeuse. Il n’y a qu’à voir le plaisir avec lequel i·els dansent, le mouvement volontairement multiple, extravagant, foisonnant et tumultueux. I·Els osent, sur la musique décalée et accidentée de la pianiste et compositrice Lea Petra, franchir le pas d’une truculence.

WEG fonctionne sur le dérèglement progressif de la phrase chorégraphique de chaque danseur·se aboutissant à une cacophonie de gestes et d’attitudes, décomplexée. La danse glisse ouvertement vers un processus d’auto-organisation mais qui est réglé sur les systèmes dynamiques du physicien Pierre C. Dauby.

Avec une précision quasi chirurgicale, du best-seller Sapiens : Une brève histoire de l’humanité de Yuval Noah Harari à son aspiration à l’humain dansant au rythme de sa propre vibration – sans l’expliciter –, Ayelen Parolin joue à sa manière d’un entre-deux troublant entre la maîtrise et le refoulé, l’humour et l’élégance.

Ayelen Parolin est artiste associée au Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles.

19.04.2023 – rencontre après spectacle
20.04.2023 · 20:00 – introduction au spectacle

Calendrier

  • - 20:30

    Rencontre après spectacle

  • - 20:30

    Introduction · 20:00

  • - 20:30
  • - 20:30

Informations

Durée

60'

Lieu

Studio

Distribution

Chorégraphe 
Ayelen Parolin

Avec
Daniel Barkan
Baptiste Cazaux
Jeanne Colin
Piet Defrancq
Daan Jaartsveld
Kinga Jaczewska
Dan Mussett
Bianca Zueneli

Assistante chorégraphe
Julie Bougard

Dramaturge
Olivier Hespel

Costumier
Wim Muyllaert

Créatrice lumières
Laurence Halloy

Compositrice musique et interprétation en direct
Lea Petra

Régisseur
Gaspar Schelck

Productrice
Claire Geyer

Production 
RUDA asbl et DC&J Création

Coproduction
Charleroi danse, Théâtre de Liège, Tanz Im August / HAU Hebbel am ufer, Atelier de Paris / CDCN, Theater Freiburg (D)

Avec le soutien de
la Fédération Wallonie – Bruxelles, WBI, WBT/D, du Tax Shelter du gouvernement Fédéral de Belgique, d’Inver Tax Shelter et de la Loterie Nationale

Remerciements 
Pierre C. Dauby

Accueil
Studio Charleroi danse / La Raffinerie & Les Écuries, Studio Thor, Pianofabriek

© Dajana Lothert