One can’t help but get a sense of chaos and confusion when confronted with the daily news. Raging, cries of anger, and apocalyptic events multiply, seem muted and the result is the destabilization of democratic benchmarks. The only responses to these events have been repression and control, a subversive use of disorder, or relativism and disengagement; reactions unlikely to meet the challenges of justice and emancipation.

True to its mandate, the Festival des Libertés invites us to question these findings on chaos and to evaluate the impact of these reflexive responses on rights and freedoms, democracy, equality, secularism and social cohesion. The Festival induces us to leave behind panic, powerlessness and gloom, and to use judgment to understand the complexity of our era and to update the adjudication of freedoms, solidarities, and power in a changing world.

The Festival des Libertés offers documentaries, debates, shows, exhibitions and concerts. It offers all forms of expression critically engaged with their era, is inspired by the promotion of a more just world, but presented in a convivial and festive atmosphere for which it is known.

 

Complete rundown of the program on www.festivaldeslibertes.be

Program

Il se dégage de l’actualité une impression de chaos ou de confusion. Rages, cris de colère, scénarios apocalyptiques se multiplient, paraissent inaudibles et déstabilisent les repères démocratiques. Les seules réponses à ces manifestations relèvent de la répression et du contrôle, de l’exhalation subversive du désordre ou du relativisme et du désengagement. Autant de réactions peu propices à relever les défis de justice et d’émancipation.

Fidèle à ses préoccupations, le Festival des Libertés invite à questionner ces constats de chaos et à évaluer l’impact des réponses réflexes sur les droits et libertés, la démocratie, l’égalité, la laïcité et la cohésion sociale. Il incite à sortir de la panique, de l’impuissance et du catastrophisme, à pratiquer le discernement pour saisir la complexité de l’époque et à actualiser l’arbitrage des libertés, des solidarités et des pouvoirs dans un monde en changement.

Le Festival des Libertés propose des documentaires, des débats, des spectacles, des expositions et des concerts. Toutes formes d’expression en prise sur leur époque, engagées dans une démarche critique, inspirées par la promotion d’un monde plus juste et mélangées dans une ambiance conviviale et festive, qui en fait aussi sa renommée.

 

La programmation complète sur www.festivaldeslibertes.be

Programme